Bight Newspaper reports that the Bayelsa Independent Electoral Commission (BYSIEC) has announced April 6th, 2024 as the date for the conduct of Local Government elections in the State.

The Chairman of the Commission, Dr. Peter Singabele announced at a stakeholders meeting today at the Commission’s office in Yenagoa.

Dr. Singabele noted that the process had started in 2022 but was put on hold due to the clash with other state and national elections, stressing that the Commission is not taking a fresh step but continuing the process from 2022.

“That is the basis of the program today, we are here with all stakeholders together to give a very firm assurance that the Bayelsa State Independent Electoral Commission (BYSIEC) is prepared for this election and the 6th of April, 2024 is the date the Commission has fixed for the Local Government elections, that is for the Chairmanship and Councillorship positions.

READ ALSO:  Bayelsa Council Polls: Govt Declares Friday, April 5th Work Free Day

“Of course, as I mentioned, the whole process started in 2022, there were a lot of developments, one of them being that there was a clash between the BYSIEC timetable and INEC, some national elections. It was postponed but I am happy to say that before we came out openly to make this statement, we are prepared including the necessary funding and so we will keep strictly to that timetable that we will be releasing today,” Singabele said.


The Commissioner for Police Bayelsa State who was represented by a Deputy Commissioner, DCP Daniel Iyama said, having known the date, they will do everything humanly possible to make sure the election is free and fair, admonishing contestants to play by the rules.

Representatives of the different political parties who were present at the meeting were Hon. Ebiye Ogoli, People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Hon. Peace Oruama of the All Progressive Movement (APM), Omulala Pius of Action Alliance (AA), Edwin Tare (ADP), Simon Imomotimi, Zenith Labour Party (ZLP), Sunny Pere, Young Progressives Party (YPP), Eneyi Zidougha, Labour Party(LP).


Others were, Micah Akeems, NRM, Joseph Gerebo, ADC, Victor Fisi, Accord Party, Brisibe Kpodoh, APGA, Dr. Allen Amadein, SDP, Victor Ben, BP, and Hon. Prince Oniekpe, APP.

Kindly Follow Bight Newspaper On Our Social Media Page

Bight News

Email us @ info[at]
Call or Whatsapp: +2348138420671