Sen. Lawrence O. Ewhrudjakpo, Bayelsa West Senatorial District

Ewhrudjakpo Sworn In As Senator Of Federal Republic Of Nigeria

By Ovoke Paul

ABUJA – The immediate past commissioner of  and infrastructure, Bayelsa State, Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo have been sworn-in as a senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, a moment ago. Senator Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo was among the 107 senators inaugurated as member of the 9th Senate, today.

Senator Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo is the Nigerian senator representing the people of Bayelsa West senatorial district in the 9th Senate. Senator Ewhrudjakpo was elected under the platform of the People Democratic Party (PDP), polling a total of 49,912 votes to defeat his opponent, the candidate of the All Progressive Congress (APC) Mr. Mathew Karimo who scored a total of 20,219 votes.


The inauguration of the 9th Assembly which started about 10am, Tuesday June 11th 2019, on the floor of the Nigerian Senate, had in attendance 107 senators-elect, out of 109 senators elected to represent their various senatorial districts for the next four years. The clerk of the Senate announced at the end of roll call that, two senators elect of Imo state, including the immediate past governor, Rochas Okorocha were not among those to be inaugurated at the time.

READ ALSO:  Sen. Ewhrudjakpo Attends Inaugural Plenary Session

Senator Ewhrudjakpo who was on seat at the time of roll call on the floor of the house, participated in the elections of principal officers of the 9th Senate. Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan, a Senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, representing Yobe North Constituency on Tuesday, emerged as President of the 9th Senate, polling a total of 79 Votes to defeat his closest rival Senator Muhammed Ali Ndume who scored a total of 28 votes.

READ ALSO:  COVID-19 Lockdown: Bayelsa Govt To Adopt Stricter Border Control

The reception which held at Chida Event Center, Abuja, immediately after the inauguration and constitution of the leadership of the national assembly had in attendance, friends, relatives and well-wishers as well as staff of Ministry of works and infrastructure (Bayelsa State, where senator Ewhrudjakpo recently served as works’ commissioner) of the senators and federal House of representatives members elected under the platform of the People Democratic Party (PDP), Bayelsa State, from all walks of life.

Bight News 

Bight News

Email us @ info[at]
Call or Whatsapp: +2348138420671