Bight Newspaper reports that Governor Douye Diri has been declared winner of the Bayelsa State Governorship election held on Saturday 11th November 2023 in the State.

INEC returning officer declared Diri winner of the election in Bayelsa State after the results of the last local government, Southern Ijaw was announced.

Diri won six local government areas to win re-election while his closest rival, Timipre Sylva of the All Progressives Congress (APC) won two local government areas.

READ ALSO:  Nov.11 Poll: Gov. Diri Receives Rt. Hon. Seibarugu Political Dynasty of APC Back to PDP

After the result of Southern Ijaw was declared, the margin between Diri and his closest challenger, Timipre Sylva, climbed to 65,088.

Diri polled a total of 175,196 votes while Sylva trailed with 110,108 votes.

He was therefore declared winner and returned elected by the election Returning Officer in Yenagoa on Monday.


Kindly Subscribe To Bight Newspaper On Our Social Media Page

Bight News

Email us @ info[at]
Call or Whatsapp: +2348138420671