The People Democratic Party (PDP) has secured 17 seats in the Bayelsa state House of Assembly, out of the 21 results released by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC). While All Progressive Congress (APC) clinched four (4) seats in the state House.

The Bayelsa House of Assembly is made up of twenty-four (24) seats and only twenty-one (21) have so far been declared.

A statement by Mr Wilfred Ifogah, INEC Head of Department, Voter Education and Publicity in the state, in Yenagoa on Monday, said there were hitches in Brass Constituency 1 and two other constituencies where the election was declared inconclusive.

Mr. Ifogah said that out of the 24 seats in the state assembly, the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) won in 17 state constituencies, while the All Progressive Congress (APC) secured four seats.

READ ALSO:  Bayelsa: Eketen Stabs Charles To Death Over A Woman

The statement reads in parts: ” the elections which was held on the 9th of March, 2019 in all the twenty four (24) state constituencies in Bayelsa State, had twenty one (21) of the constituencies results fully declared and winners returned,” INEC said.

Meanwhile, three (3) constituencies’ elections namely; Brass constituency I, Ogbia constituency II and southern Ijaw constituency IV have been declared inconclusive by INEC.

Bight News gathered that, PDP polled 6,551 to defeat APC that got 2,142 in Brass Constituency III while In Nembe 1, PDP also polled 14,941 to defeat APC that polled 1,675 votes.

READ ALSO:  Bayelsa Guber: I Visited Fmr President Jonathan 16th Times

Other places where the PDP won were Kolokuma/Opokuma I, where it polled 7,478 to defeat APC that got 3805, and Kolokuma/Opokuma II, where the party scored 5,693 as against APC’s 2,697 votes.

In Yenagoa I, PDP polled 26,012 to defeat APC that got 1,976 votes while in Yenagoa II ,PDP got 6,345 while APC scored 2,998 votes.

PDP also won in Yenagoa 111 with 3,674 as against APC’s 974 votes and in Ekeremor I, PDP polled 7,239 to defeat APC that garnered 3,945 votes.

While APC won in Brass II, polling 10,958 votes to defeat PDP that got 6,833 while in Nembe II, APC got 8,167 votes to defeat PDP that polled 401 votes.

READ ALSO:  Guber Poll: Former Bayelsa Legislators Endorse Gov Diri For 2nd Term

Also in Nembe III, APC polled 10,906 votes as against 302 votes recorded by PDP and in Ekeremor II, APC also polled 17,428 to defeat PDP that got 11,184 votes.

“The commission will in due time inform stakeholders especially in the constituencies affected of the new date to conduct supplementary elections in the affected constituencies,” Ifogah said.

See full list of elected members released by INEC below.

Bight News

Email us @ info[at]
Call or Whatsapp: +2348138420671